Olympic places on the line as Oceania Sevens draw confirmed


– Admission free to watch key Olympic qualifying event
– Women’s Sevens Series final leg to run alongside Oceania Sevens
– New Zealand men’s sevens players to train against Auckland

Olympic places are on the line this weekend as men’s and women’s sevens players from across Oceania converge on Auckland for the eighth Oceania Sevens Championship.

The two day event at the Trusts Arena in Waitakere, is also a critical Olympic qualifying tournament. The winners from the men’s and women’s draws will directly qualify for the Rio de Janiero Olympics in August next year. The draw comprises eight men’s teams and five women’s teams (see details below).

The teams that finish second and third this weekend will have a second chance to book places for Rio. They will automatically gain entry to the World Rugby final Olympic qualifying tournament, expected to be played in June 2016.

Matches kick-off at 10am each day.

For the tournament draw click here

Top New Zealand sevens players in action alongside tournament
The best men’s and women’s sevens players in New Zealand will also be in action. The second leg of the Women’s Sevens Series, now in its second year, will run alongside Oceania Sevens.

Four teams, including the New Zealand Women’s Sevens team will compete for a spot in the final which takes place on Sunday, 15 November before the Championship finals. They will play round robin matches at Waitemata Rugby Club over Friday and Saturday before the final at Trusts Arena on Sunday afternoon. The format aims to replicate the Olympic tournament next year.

The All Blacks Sevens have already qualified for Rio and coach Gordon Tietjens will be using Oceania Sevens to finalise his squad for the 2015/16 season. The first tournament of the World Series kicks off in Dubai in early December.

Core All Black Sevens players along with promising young players will be put through their paces in four training matches against the Auckland sevens side which will also be played at Trusts Arena.

Admission to Oceania Sevens is free with live coverage on SKY Sport.

Oceania Sevens Championship
– 14,15 November
– Trusts Arena, Waitakere (Auckland)

Participating teams
Men: Australia, Samoa, Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, America Samoa, Nauru, Solomon Islands
Women: Fiji, Samoa, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Tonga




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s