Barbarians vs Argentina Lineups Named

martin landajo argentina pumas rugby world cup americas rugby news

Barbarians vs Argentina Lineups Named

The line-ups for Saturday’s international friendly between the Barbarians and Argentina have been named. The fixture is to be the final one of the year for Los Pumas who are looking to complete what has been widely regarded as a very successful year.

In 2015 Argentina reached the World Cup Semi Finals for the second time in history and also completed a history-making win over South Africa in Durban during the Rugby Championship. The match against the Barbarians is now an opportunity to have some fun while preparing for what lies ahead as European based Pumas are no longer eligible for international duty.

Based on Argentina’s line-up from the Bronze Final Head Coach Daniel Hourcade has made a wide variety of changes with a combination of injuries, suspension and club duty motivating the selection.

With Agustín Creevy missing Martín Landajo will captain the side as expected while a young back-three will start after training together earlier this week. Getting his chance in place of Joaquín Tuculet is Ramiro Moyano who missed out on selection for the Rugby Championship and World Cup. He will play opposite World Champion Nehe Milner-Skudder who won the breakthrough player of the year award.

The remaining starting Pumas were involved in the World Cup though many did not start matches during the play-offs. Replacement backs Gabriel Ascárate, Emiliano Boffelli and Felipe Ezcurra all missed the World Cup but two of them are to play for Argentina’s Super Rugby team.

Starting for the Barbarians are a host of Super Rugby names from the past and present with  the 2015 championship winning Lima Sopoaga named at fly halfand being joined by Waisake Naholo on the right wing. A lot is expected over both players following the loss of key personal to European clubs.

Richie McCaw‘s potential replacement, Ardie Savea will start for the Barbarians. Players to have captained both Australia and South Africa in the World Cup are to start this Saturday.

Barbarians # Argentina
Nehe Milner-Skudder 15 Ramiro Moyano
Waisake Naholo 14 Matías Moroni
Tevita Kuridrani 13 Jerónimo De la Fuente
Ryan Crotty 12 Santiago González Iglesias
Nemani Nadolo 11 Santiago Cordero
Lima Sopoaga 10 Nicolás Sánchez
Tawera Kerr-Barlow 9 Martín Landajo
Stephen Hoiles 8 Facundo Isa
Ardie Savea 7 Javier Ortega Desio
Scott Fardy 6 Pablo Matera
Victor Matfield 5 Matías Alemanno
Lood De Jager 4 Guido Petti Pagadizábal
Charlie Faumuina 3 Ramiro Herrera
Stephen Moore 2 Julián Montoya
Thomas Du Toit 1 Lucas Noguera Paz
James Hanson 16 Santiago Iglesias Valdez
Jamie MacIntosh 17 Santiago García Botta
Toby Smith 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
Bakkies Botha 19 Tomás Lezana
Cobus Reinach 20 Leonardo Senatore
Pat Lambie 21 Felipe Ezcurra
François Venter 22 Gabriel Ascárate
Joe Tomane 23 Emiliano Boffelli




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s