NACRA Rebranded to Rugby Americas North

NACRA Rebranded to Rugby Americas North

The regional governing body for rugby in North America and the Caribbean, NACRA is to officially be rebranded to RAN – Rugby Americas North. The change is a part of a global renaming policy which has seen the former names or regional Associations altered to be Rugby Africa, Asia Rugby, Oceania Rugby, Rugby Europe and Sudamérica Rugby.

For North America and the Caribbean it is not to be the first change. Until 2001 the organization was known as the North America and West Indies Rugby Association (NAWIRA). Presently the entity has 15 members – Bahamas, Bermuda, Barbados, British Virigin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Curaçao, Guyana, Jamaica, Mexico, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands and the USA.

Additional members are inevitable as the sport is played in other countries that fall within the region. Such instances include Belize, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Martinique, St. Kitts and Nevis and Suriname.

Other Spanish speaking countries located in the technical geographical region of North America are current or future affiliated members of Sudámerica Rugby, specifically those located in Central America between Mexico and Colombia.

Like the rebranding of CONSUR to Sudamérica Rugby the new Rugby Americas North entity requires a new logo and website.

 Designs for the new logo are being accepted until January 31.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s