All Blacks Sevens team for Sydney 7s


All Blacks Sevens team for Sydney 7s

The All Blacks Sevens team to play in the fourth leg of the 2015/16 HSBC Sevens World Series, the Sydney 7s, on 6 and 7 February at Allianz Stadium, has been named.

Coach Gordon Tietjens has made one change to the team that won last weekend’s HSBC Wellington Sevens.

Dylan Collier replaces Sam Dickson who picked up a minor hip injury during the All Blacks Sevens’ quarterfinal win over Kenya.

Tietjens said his focus was two fold.

“We are focussed on the World Series now but can’t lose sight of the Olympics. The World Series is probably from my perspective, about trying to put the right combinations together and giving players the opportunity to make it into that team for Rio.”

The team is;

Kurt Baker (Taranaki)
Dylan Collier (Waikato)
Akira Ioane (Auckland)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland)
Gillies Kaka (Hawke’s Bay)
Ben Lam (Auckland)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)
Augustine Pulu (Counties Manukau)
Ardie Savea (Wellington)
Regan Ware (Waikato)
Sonny Bill Williams (Counties Manukau)
Joe Webber (Waikato)

Match schedule
The All Blacks Sevens have been drawn in Pool A with Australia, Canada and Portugal. After winning Wellington Sevens last weekend, the team currently lies third on the points table behind series leader South Africa and Fiji.

  • 1.12pm (3.12pm NZT) v Canada
  • 5.10pm (7.10pm NZT) v Portugal
  • 9.03pm (11.03pm NZT) v Australia





Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s