Hurricanes blow Crusaders away


The Hurricanes scored 12 tries in a 74-7 thrashing of the Crusaders in a pre-season game in Blenheim on Friday.

Although Hurricanes coach Chris Boyd rested some key players to avoid any unnecessary injuries ahead of next weekend’s opening round of Super Rugby, the Canes still managed to produce a completely dominant performance.

TJ Perenara, Ardie Savea, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Beauden Barrett and Victor Vito all scored in the first half, while the Crusaders managed to respond with just a solitary try to Johnny McNicholl as the Hurricanes held a 27-7 lead heading into the break.

The carnage only got worse in the second half as Ngani Laumape, Vito, Julian Savea, Pita Ahki, Blade Thomson, Cory Jane and Jason Woodward all went over for tries as the Canes sent out a serious statement of intent just a week away from their Super Rugby opener against the Brumbies.

Although the Crusaders certainly weren’t anywhere near full strength, they will still be very disappointed by their inability to compete on Friday, with the seven-time Super Rugby champs set to kick off this season’s campaign against the Chiefs next Saturday.

Hurricanes –
Tries: TJ Perenara, Ardie Savea, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Beauden Barrett, Victor Vito (2), Ngani Laumape, Julian Savea, Pita Ahki, Blade Thomson, Cory Jane, Jason Woodward. Conversions: Barrett (7).

Crusaders –
Try: Ardie Savea. Conversion: Richie Mo’unga.

Hurricanes – 15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara (c), 8 Victor Vito, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Mark Abbott, 4 Blade Thomson, 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen, 2 Leni Apisai, 1 Reggie Goodes
Subs: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Loni Uhila, 18 Chris Eves, 19 Michael Fatialofa, 20 Callum Gibbins, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Willis Halaholo, 23 Pita Ahki, 24 James Marshall, 25 Jason Woodward.

Crusaders – 15 David Havili, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Sean Wainui, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Tim Boys, 6 Jimmy Tupou, 5 Samuel Whitelock (c), 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Mike Alaalatoa, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.
Subs: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Owen Franks, 19 Oliver Jager, 20 Mitchell Dunshea, 21 Andy Ellis, 22 Ben Volavola, 23 Jone Macilai, 24 Peter Samu, 25 Reed Prinsep.





Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s