SUPER RUGBY Preview: Blues v Highlanders


A stunning pre-season campaign has given the Blues hope of starting the 2016 Investec Super Rugby season with a bang over defending champions the Highlanders at Eden Park.  

ROUND ONE: Blues v Highlanders, 7.35pm, Friday 26 February, Eden Park

Overall, the Blues and Highlanders have met 26 times in Super Rugby with the Blues winning 15 matches to the Highlanders 11. In recent times the balance favours the Highlanders with six wins out of the last eight matches. Last season the Highlanders won both fixtures between the sides with a combined margin of 74-31 from the two clashes.

After slumping to 14th on the Super Rugby ladder in 2015, the Blues have experienced a pre-season resurgence under new coach Tana Umaga. A dynamic backline and hardworking forward pack has combined to secure impressive wins over the Rebels, Hurricanes and Chiefs. Upfront, former All Blacks Patrick Tuipulotu and Steven Luatua have made the Blues a force while the electric Ioane brothers, former All Black Rene Ranger and speedsters Lolagi Visinia and Melani Nanai have given the Blues game-breaking ability across the park.

The form of the Highlanders has been ominous during their pre-season campaign. After starting with a high scoring 45-38 loss to Dan Carter’s Racing Metro in Hong Kong, the team returned home to grind out a 19-19 all draw with the Crusaders in Waimumu. In their third and final pre-season clash, the Highlanders displayed the form that took them to the Super Rugby title last year by scoring five tries in a thrilling win over a star-studded Waratahs outfit.

There’s no shortage of star power on display with the Highlanders boasting All Blacks Aaron Smith, Lima Sopoaga, Ben Smith, Malakai Fekitoa and Waisake Naholo among their powerhouse backline. The Blues backline is no less dangerous with first-five Ihaia West set to unleash the dynamic George Moala, Tevita Li and Lolagi Visinia on his outside. If there was one player to watch in this match though it could be Malakai Fekitoa. The Highlanders centre has been unstoppable in pre-season play and starred with three tries against the Waratahs.

It takes just one look at the Blues bench to see the talent they possess this year. In All Blacks prop Charlie Faumuina, sevens superstar Akira Ioane and the returning Rene Ranger, the Blues have vital firepower to call on during this crunch clash. Ranger and Ioane will provide spark while Faumuina will deliver stability up front. If this clash goes down to the wire, the strength of the Blues bench could prove to be the difference.

A season ending injury to Highlanders stalwart Richard Buckman has opened the door for former New Zealand Under-20s rep Teihorangi Walden to debut at second-five. The 22-year-old will be surrounded by plenty of experience with Lima Sopoaga on his inside and Malakai Fekitoa on the outside. As a member of the Highlanders wider training group for the last two years, Walden will be itching to test himself against Blues star George Moala.

10644991_10207264340464612_6589941329446322473_nPrevious results:

2015: Highlanders won 44-7 in Auckland
2015: Highlanders won 30-24 in Dunedin
2014: Blues won 30-12 in Auckland
2014: Highlanders won 29-21 in Dunedin
2013: Highlanders won 38-28 in Dunedin
2013: Blues won 29-18 in Auckland
2012: Highlanders won 30-27 in Dunedin
2012: Highlanders won 27-20 in Auckland

The teams:

Blues: 15 Lolagi Visinia, 14 Melani Nanai, 13 Male Sa’u, 12 George Moala, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Steven Luatua, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Joe Edwards, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 James Parsons (c), 1 Ofa Tu’ungafasi
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Namatahi Waa, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Akira Ioane, 20 Kara Pryor, 21 Billy Guyton, 22 Matt McGahan, 23 Rene Ranger

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith (c), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Teihorangi Walden, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Tom Franklin, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown
Replacements: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Brendon Edmonds, 18 Ross Geldenhuys, 19 Alex Ainley, 20 Dan Pryor, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Hayden Parker, 23 Matt Faddes

Date: Friday, February 26
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 19:35 local (06:35 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Paul Williams (New Zealand), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)





Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s