The Southern Hemisphere’s regional championship, the Rugby Championship, is headed to the Northern Hemisphere for the first time in the 21-year history of the tournament.

Argentina will ‘host’ Australia at Twickenham on Saturday, October 8.

The 21st edition of the tournament kicks off on August 20.  The matches of all the first 5 match days are in the host countries in the southern hemisphere setting up the inaugural match in the northern hemisphere on the final match day.

It will be a return to Twickenham for these 2 sides as the Pumas and Wallabies met at the London stadium in last year’s Rugby World Cup semifinal.  Australia won that match 29-15.

“While we witness the daring and exciting brand of rugby played by southern hemisphere teams on a regular basis, last year’s Rugby World Cup well and truly showcased that skill and flair to the rest of the world,” SANZAAR chief executive Andy Marinos said.  “Now, we are thrilled to announce that two of our national teams, Argentina and Australia, will be returning to the United Kingdom some 12 months later to contest what will be a historic chapter of the Rugby Championship.”

The Rugby Championship is the annual rugby union competition between the top international teams – Argentina, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa – in the southern hemisphere.  The inaugural tournament was held in 1996 with only Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa competing and called the Tri Nations.  It was expanded to 4 teams in 2012.  The Rugby Championship is based on the northern hemisphere’s Six Nations.




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s