SUPER RUGBY PREVIEW : Reds vs Cheetahs



The Reds have announced an unchanged side to play the Cheetahs at Suncorp Stadium this Saturday.

That means James Slipper again captains the side, with Karmichael Hunt at full-back and Liam Gill at openside flanker.

Reds co-interim head coach Nick Stiles said: “We played well in patches in South Africa but we were disappointed not to get the results we were after.

“We were able to push two good teams, away from home in hostile environments, we just need to deliver an 80-minute performance.

“The Cheetahs are a good side and we’ve had some close matches with them in recent years.

“The group’s sole focus this week has been on preparing well to deliver a performance we and our fans can we proud of.”

Cheetahs head coach Franco Smith has brought in Fred Zeilinga to start at fly-half for their Super Rugby clash with the Reds on Saturday.

Zeilinga takes the place of Niel Marais, who drops to the bench.

Smith has also made changes to his forward pack where Carl Wegner comes in for Francois Uys at lock and Henco Venter replaces the injured Hilton Lobberts.

Paul Schoeman subsequently moves from number eight to the side of the scrum for this weekend’s match at Suncorp Stadium.

The Teams:

Reds: 15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Junior Laloifi, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Anthony Fainga’a, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Curtis Browning, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Hendrik Tui, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Ben Matwijow, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Andrew Ready, 1 James Slipper (c)
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Sef Fa’agase, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Cadeyrn Neville, 20 Michael Gunn, 21 James Tuttle, 22 Duncan Paia’aua, 23 Ayumu Goromaru

Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Nico Lee, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Luan de Bruin, 18 Johan Coetzee, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Oupa Mohoje, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Niel Marais, 23 Michael van der Spuy

Date: Saturday, April 30
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 19:45 local (09:45 GMT)
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Referees: Will Houston, Nic Berry
TMO: George Ayoub




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s