SUPER RUGBY Preview : Waratahs vs Cheetahs



The Waratahs will run out with a similar team that defeated the Stormers 32-20 last weekend in South Africa for this Saturday’s Round 11 match against the Cheetahs at Allianz Stadium.

Only one change has been made, with hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau making his return to the starting XV for the first time since round two this season, injecting some added experience to the front row.

This week also sees Bernard Foley become equal highest Super Rugby-capped fly-half for the Waratahs, together with Daniel Halangahu on 59. He also now sits second for most number of conversions for NSW (95) behind Matt Burke on 184.

Dean Mumm remains in the number six jersey, with Jack Dempsey still out with a shoulder injury. Benn Robinson is recovering from surgery following an eye injury during the round eight match against the Brumbies.

Meanwhile Tolu Latu has pulled up well from a hamstring injury suffered in round five and will join Zac Guildford in club rugby this weekend as they seek to return to full match fitness.

Cheetahs head coach Franco Smith has made a handful of changes to his starting line-up that will face the Waratahs in Sydney.

Up front Ox Nche, Elandre Huggett, Luan de Bruin, Francois Uys, Willie Britz and Oupa Mohoje are all included, with Torsten van Jaarsveld, Charles Marais, Maks van Dyk, Lodewyk de Jager and Uzair Cassiem named on the bench after a tough workload over recent Super Rugby rounds.

Tian Meyer and Shaun Venter switch places at scrum-half with Venter on the bench as the Cheetahs look to respond from successive losses.

Meanwhile, captain Francois Venter is back at inside centre after being withdrawn from the fixture against the Reds due to a calf injury.

The Teams:

Waratahs: 15 Andrew Kellaway, 14 Reece Robinson, 13 Israel Folau, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Jed Holloway, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Dean Mumm, 5 Will Skelton, 4 David Dennis, 3 Tom Robertson, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Paddy Ryan
Replacements: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Angus Taavao, 19 Sam Lousi, 20 Wycliff Palu, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 David Horwitz, 23 Matt Carraro

Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Nico Lee, 12 Francois Venter (c), 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Willie Britz, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Elandre Huggett, 1 Ox Nche
Replacements: 16 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Maks van Dyk, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Uzair Cassiem, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Niel Marais, 23 Michael van der Spuy

Date: Saturday, May 7

Venue: Allianz Stadium
Kick-off: 19:45 local (09:45 GMT)
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Referees: Andrew Lees, Graham Cooper
TMO: George Ayoub




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s