SUPER RUGBY Preview : Lions vs Jaguares


tables12bLions head coach Johan Ackermann has rotated his side for their clash with the Jaguares in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Two alterations have been made to the backline as Howard Mnisi and Faf de Klerk come in for Rohan Janse van Rensburg and Ross Cronje at inside centre and scrum-half respectively for the game against the Argentines.

Up front Corne Fourie and Armand van der Merwe replace Dylan Smith and Malcolm Marx, with the latter duo having been named on the bench.

In other changes Lourens Erasmus comes in at lock for Andries Ferreira while Cyle Brink gets a start, as Warwick Tecklenburg takes a spell among the replacements.

The Jaguares have made four changes to the side that will face the Lions at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday.

Julián Montoya comes in for suspended captain Agustín Creevy, which sees Facundo Bosch being named as cover for the hooker position.

Scrum-half Martín Landajo takes over the captaincy from Creevy and the former pairs up with Nicolás Sánchez to form the half-back combination.

A hefty ten-week ban for back-rower Leonardo Senatore allows Facundo Isa to be promoted from the bench to the starting XV.

Tomás Lezana replaces Javier Ortega Desio in the number seven position with the latter being demoted to the replacement bench.

Manuel Montero makes way for Lucas González Amorosino on the left wing in the only change in the backline. Juan Martín Hernández and Matías Orlando will continue their pairing in the midfield.

The Teams:

Lions: 15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Lourens Erasmus, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Corne Fourie
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Ruan Ackermann, 20 Warwick Tecklenburg, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 23 Sylvian Mahuza

Jaguares: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Emiliano Boffelli, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Lucas González Amorosino, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo (c), 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Tomás Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Julián Montoya, 1 Santiago García Botta.
Replacements: 16 Facundo Bosch, 17 Facundo Gigena, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Javier Ortega Desio, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Ramiro Moyano.

Date: Saturday, May 21
Venue: Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 15:00 local (13.00 GMT)
Referee: Stuart Berry (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s