SUPER RUGBY Preview : Reds vs Sunwolves


tables12bThe Reds have only made one change to their matchday squad that will face the Sunwolves in Brisbane on Saturday.

Cadeyrn Neville and Ben Matwijow trade places in the second row with Neville being named in the starting XV.

The impressive Nick Frisby and Jake McIntyre continue their half-back pairing while Japan’s World Cup star Ayumu Goromaru (full-back) links up with Chris Feauai-Sautia (right wing) and Eto Nabuli (left wing) in the back three.

Greg Holmes (tighthead prop), Andrew Ready (hooker) and captain James Slipper (loosehead prop) have retained their front row combination once again.

The Sunwolves have named an unchanged side that drew 17-all against the Stormers last week, to play the Reds in Brisbane on Saturday.

The Cape side were made to work hard to salvage a draw against a determined and inspired Sunwolves side.

Coach Mark Hammett has rewarded his troops for last week’s effort and has aimed for consistency by retaining the starting line-up.

Inside centre Harumichi Tatekawa retains the captaincy for a second week, regular captain Shota Horie has been named on the bench.

The only change to the matchday squad is the return of prop Keita Inagaki, who is named amongst the replacements for the first time in six weeks.

Inagaki’s return to the bench means that Ziun Gu is the only player from last week who misses out completely on selection.

The Teams:

Reds: 15 Ayumu Goromaru, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Campbell Magnay, 12 Anthony Fainga’a, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Curtis Browning, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Hendrik Tui, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Andrew Ready, 1 James Slipper (captain)
Replacements: 16 Matt Mafi, 17 Sef Fa’agase, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Ben Matwijow, 20 Michael Gunn, 21 James Tuttle, 22 Duncan Paia’aua, 23 Junior Laloifi

Sunwolves: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Akihito Yamada, 13 Derek Carpenter, 12 Harumichi Tatekawa (c), 11 John Stewart, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Atsushi Hiwasa, 8 Ed Quirk, 7 Andrew Durutalo, 6 Liaki Moli, 5 Fa’ Atiga Lemalu, 4 Timothy Bond, 3 Shinnosuke Kakinaga, 2 Takeshi Kizu, 1 Masataka Mikami
Replacements: 16 Shota Horie, 17 Keita Inagaki , 18 Takuma Asahara, 19 Yoshiya Hosoda, 20 Taiyo Ando, 21 Yuki Yatomi, 22 Yu Tamura, 23 Mifiposeti Paea

Date: Saturday, May 21
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 15:05 local (05:05 GMT)
Referee: Will Houston
Assistant Referees: Andrew Lees, Nic Berry
TMO: Damien Mitchelmore




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s