SUPER RUGBY Preview : Sharks vs Kings


tables12bThe Sharks have opted to make six changes for this weekend’s Super Rugby clash against the Kings in Durban.

Named to start at scrum-half last week, Michael Claassens missed the Jaguares match after pulling up in captain’s practice with a groin strain, but has recovered in time to start the Kings’ match. Lwazi Mvovo returns to the starting line-up while Jean-Luc du Preez comes in for namesake Jean Deysel in the back row.

Etienne Oosthuizen has also made his return to the starting line-up, while there is a new front row in Lourens Adriaanse, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Dale Chadwick.

Assistant coach Robert du Preez knows that the Sharks have had a tough time lately as far as travel is concerned, but will be looking to give everything this weekend to earn their break.

“We’re not taking the Kings for granted, it’s going to be a tough one,” he explains.

“They’re improving every week but we will play our normal, structured game and if the opportunities present themselves, then we have to use them.”

The Kings have named their side that will face the Sharks in their Super Rugby clash in Durban, with Louis Fouché included at fly-half.

Fouché replaces Elgar Watts in the number ten jersey and is joined in a new half-back combination by scrum-half Ntando Kebe. James Hall is not included in the matchday 23 as Kevin Luiters is the back-up nine.

After their loss at the Cheetahs, there is a brand new front-row as Schalk Ferreira and Jacobie Adriaanse pack down either side of hooker Martin Ferreira while Steven Sykes returns at lock to captain the side.

In the only other change to the team, Stefan Willemse replaces JP Jonck as the Kings look to cause a shock in the derby clash in Durban.

The Teams:

Sharks: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie (c), 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dale Chadwick
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Lubabalo Mthembu, 21 Stefan Ungerer, 22 Garth April, 23 Odwa Ndungane

Kings: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Lukhanyo Am, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Luzuko Vulindlu, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Ntando Kebe, 8 Aidon Davis, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Stefan Willemse, 5 Schalk Oelofse, 4 Steven Sykes (c), 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Schalk Ferreira
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Justin Ackerman, 18 Tom Botha, 19 JC Astle, 20 Jacques Engelbrecht, 21 Kevin Luiters, 22 Elgar Watts, 23 Leighton Eksteen

Date: Saturday, May 21
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 17:10 local (15:10 GMT)
Referee: Quinton Immelman
Assistant Referees: Rodney Bonaparte, Archie Sehlako
TMO: Marius Jonker




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s