SUPER RUGBY Preview : Brumbies vs Sunwolves



Brumbies coach Stephen Larkham has made three changes to his starting line-up for Saturday’s clash with the Sunwolves in Canberra.

Michael Dowsett replaces Tomás Cubelli at scrumhalf, Ruan Smith comes in for Ben Alexander at tighthead prop and Robbie Coleman returns from injury at inside centre.

The starting front row features Scott Sio, co-captain Stephen Moore and Ruan Smith. The starting locks will be Rory Arnold and Sam Carter, while Scott Fardy, David Pocock and Jarrad Butler start in the back row.

Dowsett gets his first start of the season with Larkham managing the workload of Cubelli who is expected to be named in the Argentinian national side to take on France and Italy over the coming weeks. Co-captain Christian Lealiifano will start outside Dowsett at fly-half.

Robbie Coleman returns to the side at inside centre after missing the win over the Rebels with a hamstring strain.

Regular Sunwolves captain Shota Horie will return to the Tokyo outfit’s run-on side for Saturday’s clash with the Brumbies in Canberra. 

Horie will don the number two jersey once again after playing off the bench in recent matches against the Reds and Stormers.

In other changes, Yu Tamara will start at fly-half with Tusi Pisi getting some much deserved rest although he is likely to come on later in the game.

Former Cheetahs and Sharks stalwart Riaan Viljoen also takes a break and starts on the bench. Yasutaka Asahara will take his place at full-back.

Scrum-half Yuki Yatomi starts ahead of Daisuke Inoue who will make his Super Rugby debut if he comes off the bench while Atsushi Hiwasa dropsright out of the matchday 23.

Elsewhere, Akihito Yamada starts in the number 11 jersey while Mifiposeti Paea is picked on the other wing and Hitoshi Ono replaces Timothy Bond in the second row.

Brumbies: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Nigel Ah Wong, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Robbie Coleman, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Christian Lealiifano (c),9 Michael Dowsett ,8 Jarrad Butler ,7 David Pocock ,6 Scott Fardy ,5 Sam Carter ,4 Rory Arnold ,3 Ruan Smith ,2 Stephen Moore ,1 Scott Sio
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jordan Smiler, 21 Joe Powell, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Lausii Taliauli

Sunwolves: 15 Yasutaka Asahara, 14 Mifiposeti Paea, 13 Derek Carpenter, 12 Harumichi Tatekawa, 11 Akihito Yamada, 10 Yu Tamura, 9 Yuki Yatomi, 8 Ed Quirk, 7 Andrew Durutalo, 6 Liaki Moli, 5 Fa’ Atiga Lemalu, 4 Hitoshi Ono, 3 Takuma Asahara, 2 Shota Horie (c), 1 Keita Inagaki
Replacements: 16 Takeshi Kizu, 17 Ziun Gu, 18  Shinnosuke Kakinaga, 19 Yoshiya Hosoda, 20 Taiyo Ando, 21 Daisuke Inoue, 22 Tusi Pisi, 23 Riaan Viljoen

Date: Saturday, May 28
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick-off: 19:45 local (09:45 GMT)
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Rohan Hoffmann
TMO: Ian Smith




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s