Preview: Australia v England (18th June 2016)

aus2016shirtxc eng2016shirtxc

England are just 80 minutes away from sealing an historic series victory over Australia as they await Saturday’s second Test in Melbourne.
Last week’s triumph looked a distant dream for Eddie Jones and his coaching staff after an impressive opening from the fired-up Wallabies.But a careful reshuffle and tempo change then saw England take a stranglehold of the game – in truth they blew their hosts away up front.

Maro Itoje took yet another step up the international ladder, announcing himself to the Southern Hemisphere with an excellent performance beyond his 21 years, while James Haskell, Owen Farrell and the front-row all enjoyed strong games. Farrell in particular was outstanding.

1-0 then with two games to play and while people may label Brisbane as Rugby World Cup revenge, that was not what this was for England as 2016 has been a new start, one that has huge potential. That’s seven straight wins this year as they continue to climb the World Rankings.

How do the Wallabies respond? Not having number eight David Pocock is a blow to their hopes of taking this series to a Sydney decider but if they do gain parity at scrum time, thus significantly reducing their penalty count, victory is definitely on for Stephen Moore’s side.

Michael Cheika has wielded the axe as out goes Scott Sio and Greg Holmes, possibly unfairly, but as he admitted “perception” played a part in his decision to bring in fresh props. They are James Slipper and Sekope Kepu, who possess a lot more experience at international level.

The first scrum is therefore going to be intriguing to watch and Craig Joubert must expect plenty of noise in either ear, one the sound of Moore and the other Dylan Hartley. Australia surely cannot endure such a bad day again which is why England may not find points so easily.

Lifting England though will of course be the confidence gained from Brisbane and also that their bench looks stronger this week. In comes Jamie George, Jack Clifford and Elliot Daly as they opt for a six-two split. No prizes for guessing how Jones wants to overcome Australia.

Differing styles again but to say England are limited in their game would be wide of the mark. This isn’t up the jumper stuff, but instead a power game that is complimented with dynamism and intelligence. It is winning rugby and could well win this series with a game to spare.

Previous results:

2016: England won 39-28 in Brisbane
2015: Australia won 33-13 at Twickenham
2014: England won 26-17 at Twickenham
2013: England won 20-13 at Twickenham
2012: Australia won 20-14 at Twickenham
2010: England won 35-18 at Twickenham
2010: England won 21-20 in Sydney
2010: Australia won 27-17 in Perth

wallabies1eng_logoAustralia (on 87.09 points) at home -vs- England (on 86.08 points)
Possible Outcome Rating Point New AUS New ENG Will ENG
Exchange Rating Rating overtake AUS?
If AUS win by 1-15 points 0.599 87.69 85.48 No
If AUS win by more than 15 0.898 87.99 85.18 No
If result is a draw 0.401 86.69 86.48 No
If ENG win by 1-15 points 1.401 85.69 87.48 Yes
If ENG win by more than 15 2.102 84.99 88.18 Yes

The teams:

Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Sean McMahon, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (c), 1 James Slipper
Replacements (three to be omitted): Tatafu Polota-Nau, Toby Smith, Greg Holmes, James Horwill, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Palu, Ben McCalman, Liam Gill, Nick Frisby, Christian Leali’ifano, Luke Morahan

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jack Nowell, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 James Haskell, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Matt Mullan, 18 Paul Hill, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 Courtney Lawes, 21 Jack Clifford, 22 Danny Care, 23 Elliot Daly

Date: Saturday, June 18
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off: 20:00 local (10:00 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s