Super Rugby Result: Highlanders 25 vs 15 Chiefs


25 vs 15

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Highlanders put on a thrilling display of running rugby to defeat the Chiefs 25-15 at Forsyth Barr Stadium on Saturday.

The defending champions ran in three tries to two in what was brilliant display of high class and high tempo rugby fitting of a final.

The win sees the men from Dunedin move to fifth on the overall table – provisionally – while the Chiefs defeat means they gave up their chance to top the New Zealand Conferance. With the Hurricanes topping the conference, both teams now have away quarter-finals, which will be decided over the course of the weekend.

More to follow…

The scorers:

Tries: Waisake Naholo (30),Dan Pryor (57), Lima Sopoaga (73)
Penalties: Lima Sopoaga (45,55)
Cons: Lima Sopoaga (59,74)

Tries: Toni Pulu (6),Lachlan Boshier (67)
Penalties: Damian McKenzie (42)
Cons: Damian McKenzie (7)

The teams:

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith (c), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Matt Faddes, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Alex Ainley, 4 Tom Franklin, 3 Siosuia Halanukonuka, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown
Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Josh Hohneck, 19 Mark Reddish, 20 Liam Squire, 21 Dan Pryor, 22 Te Aihe Toma, 23 Fletcher Smith

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (cc), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Sam Cane (cc), 6 Tom Sanders, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Atu Moli, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Hiroshi Yamashita, 19 Taleni Seu, 20 Lachlan Boshier, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Stephen Donald, 23 Sam McNicol

Date: Saturday, July 16
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Nick Briant (New Zealand), Jamie Nutbrown (New Zealand)
TMO: Chris Wratt (New Zealand)




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s