Super Rugby Preview – Quarter Final #1 – Brumbies vs Highlanders


The Super Rugby quarter-finals kick-off on Friday with an intriguing battle between the Brumbies and Highlanders taking place in Canberra.
Last week’s win over the Chiefs was vitally important for the reigning champions as had they have lost then it would have been yet another long flight to South Africa. Fortunately they claimed the victory which means they only had to endure the much shorter visit to Australia.In contrast, the Brumbies’ last venture outside of Australasia came way back in March so it is clear to see who has enjoyed the favourable schedule leading up to this win-or-bust fixture. Their fans will hope that plays a role this week as they tackle a team in impressive form.Supporters from Canberra will also be warmed by the fact they have history on their side as barring this season’s negative in Invercargill when the Highlanders won 26-10, the Brumbies have won seven of their last nine games against the Dunedin side, which is hugely impressive.The here and now though does lean towards the Highlanders as they have looked slick over recent rounds, and with last year’s title success and the confidence it brings still fresh in the memory, many are predicting the first semi-final spot to go the way of the New Zealanders.

That win at Rugby Park means that the Highlanders are searching for back-to-back wins against the Brumbies for the first time since 2006, with talent aplenty in their squad led by a head coach whose reputation is growing by the game. They look to be the real deal once again.

The Brumbies, who will hope the return of David Pocock is a catalyst for them, should brace themselves as there’s no doubt the Highlanders are two levels up on the opposition they have faced in recent matches. Realising that and dealing with it though are two different things.

The last time the teams met: Invercargill was the setting for their Round 10 clash as the Highlanders ran out 26-10 winners at Rugby Park. It was 0-3 to the Brumbies until the 40th minute when Aaron Smith found Lima Sopoaga with a great flat pass close to the try-line and when Ben Smith crossed soon after the break, the hosts pulled clear. Josh Mann-Rea scored from a driving maul but Sopoaga’s boot sealed victory.

Team news: The return of David Pocock is such a fillip for Brumbies fans but losing Rory Arnold dampens that news somewhat. Robbie Coleman is also back in the XV after three weeks of strong performances in the John I Dent Cup. He replaces James Dargaville on the left wing. In the front-row, Ruan Smith will start at tighthead prop with Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin named on the bench after recovering from an injury.

The Highlanders have made two changes to their starting line-up as Liam Squire earns a nod at number eight after impressing from the bench last week, meaning a move for the versatile Luke Whitelock to lock. After recovering from illness co-captain Shane Christie is back on the side of the scrum replacing James Lentjes while Josh Hohneck and Ash Dixon will both make their 50th Super Rugby appearances for the team.

Previous results:

2016: Highlanders won 26-10 in Invercargill
2015: Brumbies won 31-18 in Canberra
2013: Brumbies won 30-19 in Dunedin
2012: Brumbies won 33-26 in Canberra
2011: Highlanders won 26-20 in Invercargill
2010: Brumbies won 31-3 in Canberra
2009: Brumbies won 33-31 in Dunedin
2008: Brumbies won 22-20 in Canberra

The teams:

Brumbies: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Nigel Ah Wong, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Robbie Coleman, 10 Christian Lealiifano (cc), 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Jarrad Butler, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Blake Enever, 3 Ruan Smith, 2 Stephen Moore (cc), 1 Scott Sio
Replacements (one to be omitted): 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Michael Wells, 21 Joe Powell, 22 Andrew Smith, 23 James Dargaville, 24 Lausii Taliauli

Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith (cc), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Matt Faddes, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie (cc), 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Luke Whitelock, 4 Tom Franklin, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown
Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Siosiua Halanukonuka, 19 Mark Reddish, 20 Dan Pryor, 21 Te Aihe Toma, 22 Fletcher Smith, 23 Rob Thompson

Date: Friday, July 22
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick-off: 18:05 local (08:05 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Referees: Ben O’Keeffe, Nic Berry
TMO: George Ayoub




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s