Result ~ Munster 27-14 Maori All Blacks

Amazing Scenes As Munster Secure Historic Victory Over Maori All Blacks


How do they keep doing it?

Munster have made it a bit of a tradition, welcoming touring sides to Thomond Park over the years. The likes of New Zealand and Australia have visited the famous ground over the years, with the southern province famously defeating both sides in 1978 and 2010 respectively.

Despite having a hugely depleted side, with many of their star named currently called up to Joe Schmidt’s Ireland side, Munster have done the impossible again and defeated the Maori All Blacks.


Anthony Foley’s two sons – Dan and Tony were presented special jersey in honour of their late father before the game.

A strong second-half performance saw Munster beat the Maori All Blacks 27-14 at Thomond Park on Friday night.

Munster opened the scoring through Rory Scannell inside the first 15 minutes but Ian Keatley failed to add the extras. The Maori All Blacks hit back 10 minutes later when Otere Black made the gap with a dummy pass before sending James Lowe through the gap on the 22 line. He was caught before the 5m line, but the wet conditions took him over the line.

The visitors doubled their lead just two minutes later when Munster gave a loose kick towards midfield where Akira Ioane took it at pace. Marty McKenzie gave it some width out wide before Black got a hand on the ball to attract a tackler before putting Ambrose Curtis away.

Munster were awarded a penalty try after Reed Prinsep was deemed to have taken out a Munster player off the ball, which also resulted in the flanker receiving a yellow card.

The conversion was miss but Munster managed to take the lead going into half time when Darren Sweetnam scored to give his side a narrow 17-14 lead at the break.

The second half had barely resumed when Keatley added a penalty to give Munster some breathing space on the scoreboard. They had the better of the second 40 and when Ronan O’Mahony went over with 12 minutes left it effectively sealed the game for Munster.

The scorers:

For Munster: 27
Scannell, Penalty Try, Sweetnam, O’Mahony
Cons: Keatley 2
Pen: Keatly

For Maori All Blacks: 14
Lowe, Curtis
Cons: Black 2
Yellow Card: Prinsep (31 min)

Munster: 15 Andrew Conway, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Ronan O’Mahony, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Robin Copeland, 7 Conor Oliver, 6 Tommy O’Donnell (c), 5 Darren O’Shea, 4 John Madigan, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 James Cronin
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Peter McCabe, 18 Brian Scott, 19 Sean O’Connor, 20 John Foley, 21 Te Aihe Toma, 22 Dan Goggin, 23 Alex Wootton

Maori All Blacks: 15 Marty McKenzie, 14 Ambrose Curtis, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Tim Bateman, 11 James Lowe, 10 Otere Black, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Shane Christie, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Leighton Price, 3 Ben May, 2 Ash Dixon (c), 1 Kane Hames
Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Marcel Renata, 19 Whetu Douglas, 20 Kara Pryor, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Jason Emery

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys (England)
Assistant Referees: Frank Murphy (Ireland), Leo Colgan (Ireland)
TMO: Brian MacNeice (Ireland)




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s