Result: Ireland 52 v 21 Canada


Ireland continued their winning run with a 52-21 win over Canada in Dublin on Saturday.

It was a hard fought win for the home side as the Canadians shocked the Irish with a perfectly timed interception from Canada winger DTH van der Merwe and a roll over try from Taylor Paris to make the score 14 all 30 minutes into the game.Despite Canada’s emergence, Ireland kept control of the game after they went into the break with a 21-14 points advantage.It was an incredibly positive performance for both coaches as Ireland’s youngsters showed there is a lot of potential for the future for Irish rugby while Canada, regarded as a minnow nation, displayed an incredibly gusty performance.

Ireland scored the first points of the game after they set up a maul on the Canada five metre line before they passed out to Earls who had no one in front of him to score.

Ireland then compounded their lead when Marshall went over the line for a score after some great running rugby which led to Earls straightening the line who then passed to Jackson who set off a long pass which released Marshall to score.

Canada got their first points of the game when Marshall threw a loose pass inside his own 22 metre and Van der Merwe showed some impeccable athleticism to intercept the pass and score. They scored their second try moments after as Taylor Paris took it over the line after the lineout maul.

Ireland got their lead back when they won the ball back and strung a few good movements together before Tiernan O’Halloran took the ball from a fantastic offload from Finlay Bealham to out sprint the cover defence to score the third try of the game for the hosts.

Ireland were then given a penalty try after they opted for the scrum after Man of the Match Ultan Dillane brought his considerable physical presence to bear as the Irish went through the phases which ended with a penalty right in front of the posts when Canada failed to release.

Canada scored another try through full-back Matt Evans which brought down the deficit to nine points. It was a fantastic defensive effort from Irish as the ball looked held up but was eventually called by the referee.

Ireland replied immediately after Earls was able to beat van der Merwe on the one-on-one to claim the restart before the forwards took over and Dillane marked a superb personal display by crashing over.

Ireland went wide from a lineout and Ringrose sliced his way through  the line with a swerving run before finding Earls. They recycled quickly while the Canadian defence was badly stretched which allowed O’Halloran to score.

The scorers:

Tries: Earls, Marshall, Penalty try, Dillane, O’Halloran 2, Tracy, Marmion
Cons: Jackson 6

Tries: Van der Merwe, Paris, Evans
Cons: McRorie 3

Ireland: 15 Tiernan O’Halloran, 14 Craig Gilroy, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Kieran Marmion, 8 Jack O’Donoghue, 7 Sean O’Brien, 6 Peter O’Mahony (c), 5 Billy Holland, 4 Ultan Dillane, 3 Finlay Bealham, 2 Sean Cronin, 1 Cian Healy
Replacements: 16 James Tracy, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 John Ryan, 19 Donnacha Ryan, 20 Dan Leavy, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Niyi Adeolokun

Canada: 15 Matt Evans, 14 DTH van der Merwe, 13 Conor Trainor, 12 Ciaran Hearn, 11 Taylor Paris, 10 Connor Braid, 9 Gordon McRorie, 8 Aaron Carpenter, 7 Lucas Rumball, 6 Kyle Baillie, 5 Evan Olmstead, 4 Brett Beukeboom, 3 Jake Ilnicki, 2 Ray Barkwill, 1 Djustice Sears
Replacements: 16 Eric Howard, 17 Rob Brouwer, 18 Matt Tierney, 19 Admir Cejvanovic, 20 Matt Heaton, 21 Phil Mack, 22 Patrick Parfrey, 23 Nick Blevins

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s