Dubai Sevens: Day One Wrap



Reigning Sevens Series champions and Olympic gold medallists Fiji were one of four teams to remain undefeated on day one of the Dubai Sevens.

The Pacific islanders took a major step towards retaining their Dubai Sevens title with three wins in Pool A over Wales, Argentina and Canada, providing some thrilling rugby at the opening round of the world series.

They will face France in the last eight and will be joined by three other unbeaten sides from day one as South Africa, England and Australia all shone bright in the Dubai sun. England will tackle Scotland with Australia facing Wales and South Africa up against New Zealand in what is set to be a mouth-watering encounter.

“We’re happy with how we performed but we knew it was going to be tough,” said Fiji captain Osea Kolinisau. “We got three wins in the bag, and a win is a win. We learned a lot from the first three games.

“Against Argentina we knew they were going to throw the kitchen sink at us because they had lost to Wales. I am proud of the way the boys were resilient. We were down twice and had two yellow cards, but the boys came back so it’s testament to them.”

South Africa, series runners-up for four years in a row, put their stamp on Pool B with victories over Scotland, USA and Uganda. World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year Seabelo Senatla also showed his quality with six tries on day one, two more than any other player.

The Blitzboks will play New Zealand in the Cup quarter-finals, a side they lost to twice in finals during their 2015-16 campaign in both Wellington and Vancouver.

England, runners-up last year in Dubai, produced a dominant display against the All Blacks Sevens in Pool C to add to their earlier victories against Samoa and Russia. They will face Calum Macrae’s Scotland side on day two.

In Pool D a new-look Australia, under the captaincy of Sam Myers, notched up three wins against Japan, France and Kenya. Head coach Andy Friend’s side will play Wales in their Cup quarter-final.

Dubai Sevens quarter-finals: Saturday, December 3
(kick-off times are local, GMT +4)


  • Fiji v France – 09:00
  • England v Scotland – 09:22
  • Australia v Wales – 09:44
  • South Africa v New Zealand – 10:06

Challenge Trophy

  • Argentina v Japan – 07:30
  • Samoa v Uganda – 07:52
  • Kenya v Canada – 08:14
  • USA v Russia – 08:36


  • Kenya 14-21 France
  • Australia 19-14 Japan
  • United States 5-14 Scotland
  • South Africa 46-0 Uganda
  • Argentina 19-21 Wales
  • Fiji 26-19 Canada
  • England 19-7 Samoa
  • New Zealand 26-5 Russia
  • Kenya 17-7 Japan
  • Australia 28-0 France
  • United States 29-7 Uganda
  • South Africa 21-5 Scotland
  • Argentina 21-14 Canada
  • Fiji 24-12 Wales
  • England 38-7 Russia
  • New Zealand 26-21 Samoa
  • France 35-0 Japan
  • Australia 17-12 Kenya
  • Scotland 35-14 Uganda
  • South Africa 19-17 United States
  • Wales 31-5 Canada
  • Fiji 22-19 Argentina
  • Samoa 17-15 Russia
  • New Zealand 12-26 England




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s