Brisbane Global Rugby Tens – DRAW & FULL RESULTS


February 11 and 12, 2017  Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Tournament Format

There are set to be some enthralling head-to-heads all the way from the pool stages to the final of the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens on February 11 and 12 2017.

Each one of the 14 world-class teams competing to be crowned champions at the inaugural event will start their campaign against fierce competition in the pools.

Teams have been drawn into four pools – two pools of four and two pools of three. The top two teams from each pool qualify for knockout play.




At a glance

  • All ten Australian and New Zealand Super Rugby clubs and four elite invitational teams will compete (in 2017 the event will feature Toulon, the Bulls, Samoa and the Panasonic Wild Knights)
  • Ten-players-per-side, ten-minutes-per-half, knockout tournament
  • Culmination of a week-long festival of rugby
  • 16 hours of compelling live rugby, featuring 28 matches played over two days
  • Broadcast live across Australia, New Zealand, UK, Japan, Africa, France and other major international markets
  • Held annually on the second weekend of February, two weeks prior to the start of the Super Rugby season, at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
  • Launches the rugby season in Australia and New Zealand
  • Over AU$1.6 million in annual prize money and participation fees on the line
  • Sanctioned by the Australian Rugby Union and the New Zealand Rugby Union

The rules of the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens are based on World Rugby’s official rugby Tens rules.

Essentially a hybrid of the traditional fifteen-a-side game and rugby sevens, the objective is to promote free-flowing and fast paced rugby, while still retaining the physical intensity and enthralling forward and backline play that rugby fans love.

  1. Ten players per team on field.
  2. Eight substitutes, with unlimited interchanges.
  3. Ten minute halves. Five minute half-time.
  4. Knockout matches drawn after regulation are continued into extra time, in multiple 5-minute periods.
  5. All conversion attempts must be drop-kicked.
  6. Conversions must be taken within 40 seconds of scoring a try.
  7. Five player scrums.
  8. Scoring team kicks off
  9. Yellow cards net a three-minute suspension.
  10. Referees rule on advantage quickly (where one play usually ends advantage).




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s