Chiefs win inaugural Brisbane Tens


The Chiefs were crowned champions of the inaugural Brisbane Tens when they beat the Crusaders 12-7 in the final on Sunday.

The Hamilton-based outfit, who beat the Reds and Bulls in the quarter-finals and semi-finals respectively, dedicated their tournament victory to former Chiefs and All Blacks back-row Sione Lauaki who died at the age of 35 on Sunday.

In the final, the Crusaders dominated early on and were rewarded when Andrew Makalio scored the opening try from a driving maul at a line-out inside the Chiefs’ 22.

The Chiefs didn’t take long to respond though and struck back via a Luke Jacobson try which Tim Nanai-Williams converted.

This gave them confidence and they added their second try early in the second half – Taleni Seu crossing the whitewash for a deserved five-pointer which would prove enough to secure them victory.





Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s