Preview: Stormers vs Lions – 15/04/2017


The Stormers have made three changes to their starting XV ahead of their crunch Super Rugby clash with the Lions at Newlands on Saturday.

Johan du Toit, the younger brother of Pieter-Steph du Toit, will make his Super Rugby debut for the Stormers if he comes off the bench.

With Cobus Wiese ruled out due to a shoulder injury, Nizaam Carr moves into the starting line-up with Du Toit providing back-row cover.

There are just two changes to the Stormers forward pack that started in the 34-26 victory against the Chiefs last week, with Pieter-Steph du Toit named at lock and Frans Malherbe rotating with Wilco Louw at tighthead prop.

The only change to the backline sees Jano Vermaak return to the team after being sidelined with concussion last week, with Godlen Masimla getting an opportunity to provide scrum-half cover on the replacements bench.

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has made two changes to his starting XV for Saturday’s clash with the Stormers in Cape Town.

Both changes are in the back-line. At outside centre, Springbok Lionel Mapoe returns after recovering from a hand injury and takes over from Harold Vorster, who drops down to the bench where he replaces Jacques Nel.

The only other alteration from the run-on side which beat the Sharks two weeks ago sees Ross Cronje coming in at scrum-half where he replaces Faf de Klerk.

Full-back Andries Coetzee has been declared fit for Saturday’s clash after recovering from a hamstring injury sustained at the Springboks’ training camp in Stellenbosch last week.

Stormers: 15 SP Marais, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Siya Kolisi (c), 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Johan du Toit, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Dan Kriel

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Courtnal Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Ruan Ackermann, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Albertus Smith, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Harold Vorster, 23 Sylvian Mahuza

Date: Saturday, April 15
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17:15 (15:15 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO: Shaun Veldsman




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s