Result: Gloucester 17 v 25 Stade Français – 12/05/2017

European dream ends for Gloucester as second half effort from Stade earns the win

Top 14 side Stade Francais came from 10-0 down to beat Gloucester and win the European Challenge Cup.

England wing Jonny May’s try put Gloucester, who needed to win to keep their Champions Cup qualification hopes alive, ahead at a rainy Murrayfield.

Italy captain Sergio Parisse then crossed to make it 10-10 at the break.

Jonathan Darby and Geoffrey Doumayrou touched down as the French team dominated after half-time, before Ross Moriarty scored a late consolation.

Stade Francais had four times reached European finals without success prior to Friday’s Edinburgh showpiece, but were deserved victors against an error-strewn Gloucester side.

The result also means the Cherry and Whites miss out on the chance to compete for a spot in next season’s Champions Cup.

The 20th and final place for the 2017-18 competition is to be decided by a series of play-off matches, with Northampton set to be replaced in the semi-finals had Gloucester won the Challenge Cup.

But the Saints, who finished seventh in the Premiership, will now play Connacht next Saturday, with a play-off final to follow against either Stade Francais or Cardiff Blues.

More to follow.

European Challenge Cup final
Gloucester (10) 17
Tries: May, Moriarty
Cons: Burns, Laidlaw
Stade Francais (10) 25
Tries: Parisse, Darby, Doumayrou
Cons: Plisson, Steyn
Pens: Plisson, Steyn

The teams:
Gloucester: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Mark Atkinson, 11 Jonny May, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Willi Heinz (c), 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Lewis Ludlow, 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Jeremy Thrush, 4 Tom Savage, 3 John Afoa, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Josh Hohneck
Replacements: 16 Darren Dawidiuk, 17 Yann Thomas, 18 Paddy McAllister, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Freddie Clarke, 21 Greig Laidlaw, 22 Billy Twelvetrees, 23 Henry Trinder

Stade Français: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Waisea Vuidarvuwalu, 13 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Jonathan Ross, 6 Antoine Burban, 5 Paul Gabrillagues, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Remi Bonfils, 1 Heinke van der Merwe
Replacements: 16 Laurent Panis, 17 Zurabi Zhvania, 18 Paul Alo Emile, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Raphael Lakafia, 21 Julien Dupuy, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jérémy Sinzelle

Date: Friday, May 12
Venue: Murrayfield
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s