Preview: Western Force v Waratahs – 15/07/2017

This year’s Super Rugby campaign has not been a happy one for Australian teams, and the Waratahs, who are often their nation’s top side, will be looking forward to ending the season in Perth against the Western Force.

The Force’s participation in the competition next year is still up in the air with the Australian Rugby Union undecided on which team between the Perth outfit and the Melbourne Rebels to cull.

With the Brumbies set to be Australia’s only representatives in the play-offs, the last weekend of action should be used by the players to put their hands up for Wallabies selection.

Neither team has impressed on the field, and fans should not expect Saturday’s clash to be a classic. Just how the Waratahs, with game breakers in their side such as Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Rob Horne, Michael Hooper and Sekope Kepu have been so woeful, is something that baffles the mind.

But, it should not come as a surprise as the game Down Under has been in a downward spiral over the last two years. It was just three years ago that the Waratahs defeated the Crusaders by one point to claim the title. Now, they’re fighting to avoid being the second worse team in Australia.

Likewise, the Force haven’t exactly covered themselves in glory, but have managed to beat non Australians teams like the Jaguares and Kings, and even though they have absolutely nothing but pride to play for, they will be keen to secure second place in the Australian conference.

The last time the teams met: The Waratahs managed a narrow six point victory on the opening weekend of the competition, although it’s been downhill since. They were without pivot Foley for large parts of the early stages, although there hasn’t been much improvement since he’s returned into the side. The game was a complete mess as it was filled with handling errors from both sides, although that could be blamed on the rain earlier in the day.

Previous results:

2017: Waratahs won 19-13 in Sydney
2016: Waratahs won 49-13 in Perth
2015: Force won 18-11 in Perth
2015: Force 25 Force won 25-13 in Sydney
2014: Force won 28-16 in Perth
2014: Waratahs won 43-21 in Sydney

The teams:

Western Force: 15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Michael Ruru, 7 Matt Hodgson (c), 6 Ross Haylett-Petty, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Pek Cowan
Replacements: 16 Anaru Rangi, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Shambeckler Vui, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Richard Hardwick, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Jono Lance, 23 James Verity-Amm

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Rob Horne, 12 David Horwitz, 11 Cam Clark, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Dean Mumm, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson
Replacements: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 David Lolohea, 18 Angus Taavao, 19 David Mcduling, 20 Ryan Mccauley, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Mack Mason, 23 Andrew Kellaway

Date: Saturday, July 15
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-off: 17.45 (09.45 GMT)
Referee: Nic Berry (Australia)
Assistant referees: Will Houston (Australia), Graham Cooper (Australia)
TMO: Ian Smith (Australia)




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s