Result: Australia 23 v 23 South Africa – {09/09/2017}

Australia and South Africa played out to a 23-23 draw in their Rugby Championship clash at nib Stadium in Perth on Saturday.

Both sides scored their points in identical fashion: two tries, two conversions and three penalties each.

The away side opened the scoring in the fourth minute with a penalty from fly-half Elton Jantjies after the Wallabies were penalised once again for an early drive. Four minutes later, the Wallabies fired back with a penalty of their own courtesy of fly-half Bernard Foley.

South Africa scored the game’s first try. Scrum-half Ross Cronje offloaded to outside centre Jesse Kriel, who hoofed the ball downfield for the galloping Raymond Rhule to chase. He shouldered off Wallabies skipper Michael Hooper, giving Kriel space to collect his own kick and score unopposed in the right hand corner.

Moment later the Wallabies scored their reply try. Full-back Israel Folau jumped and tapped back a kick-off to Adam Coleman. The ball found inside centre Kurtley Beale, who utilised his vision and footwork to run around the Bok defenders to score. Foley landed another penalty just before the half-time hooter to give the home side a three point advantage at the break.

A fantastic driving maul saw Australia hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau score a converted try early in the second half. South Africa reduced the home side’s lead to seven points after Jantjies slotted another penalty kick which was awarded after a Wallaby was caught offside.

The Springboks then scored a levelling converted try after a 20 metre maurauding maul resulted in a try for Springbok hooker Malcolm Marx. After 67 minutes, a monsterous Bok scrum from five metres out resulted in a penalty awarded which Jantjies duely converted.

Foley responded with his third penalty conversion after South Africa illegally cleared out the scrum-half. Posession was exchanged numerous times in the last five minutes but the drama ended with a 23-23 draw.

Full Time:
Australia 23 v 23 South Africa

Tries: Kurtley Beale (27′), Tatafu Polota-Nau (47)
Penalties: Bernard Foley (8,41,70)
Cons: Bernard Foley (29,48)

Tries: Jesse Kriel (25), Malcolm Marx (59)
Penalties: Elton Jantjies (4,54,68)
Cons: Elton Jantjies (27,60)

Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Reece Hodge, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sean McMahon, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Scott Sio
Replacements: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Jack Dempsey, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Samu Kerevi, 23 Curtis Rona

South Africa: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Raymond Rhule, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Uzair Cassiem, 7 Jaco Kriel, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (c), 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Paul Williams (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)



Find us on Team App


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s