You are here
Home > Ireland > RWC Pool A Result – Ireland 35 vs 00 Russia

RWC Pool A Result – Ireland 35 vs 00 Russia

KOBE- 03 Oct : Ireland garnered their second victory of the 2019 Rugby World Cup after sealing a 35-0 bonus-point triumph over Russia in Kobe on Thursday.

It still wasn’t a convincing performance by the Irish, despite opening up a 21-0 lead at the interval via Rob Kearney, Peter O’Mahony and Rhys Ruddock tries.

The Russians were spirited and they forced Joe Schmidt’s side into mistakes, and the bonus-point wasn’t assured until Andrew Conway touched down in the 61st minute.

That should have opened the floodgates against Lyn Jones’ tiring outfit but they could only add one more try through Garry Ringrose.

After the shock of the Japan defeat, this was supposed to be the ideal match for Ireland to get their campaign back on track but, although they ultimately emerged with a comfortable victory, it was an error-strewn display.

The start was positive enough, however, as just one minute had elapsed when the Irishmen opened the scoring through Kearney. The full-back, who hadn’t scored a Test try for four years before September, touched down for his third in three successive matches.

O’Mahony soon followed his team-mate across the whitewash as Johnny Sexton grubbered through after spotting space in behind the Bears’ defensive line.

To Russia’s credit, they battled and prevented their opponents from adding to their lead over the next 20 minutes, but Schmidt’s men gradually increased the pressure and that resulted in a yellow card for Bogdan Fedotko.

With the second-row off the field, Ireland went over once again as Ruddock touched down from close range for a 19-point buffer. Sexton converted for the third time but it would be one of the fly-half’s final actions as the Leinsterman was replaced by Jack Carty at the break.

Carty has shown some good touches in the early stages of his international career but he struggled to get the Irish on the front foot in the third quarter. Russia defended excellently and, as a result, the 2018 Six Nations winners were frustrated by their opponents.

Although ill-discipline was a problem for the Russians with Andrei Ostrikov being sin-binned for a dangerous ruck clearout on John Ryan, Ireland initially failed to take advantage.

Instead, a series of errors saw a number of scrums take place in the middle of the pitch and Jones’ men kept it scoreless for the majority of those 10 minutes.

They were eventually breached, though, when Carty and Keith Earls combined to send Conway across the whitewash before another excellent move saw Ringrose complete the win late on.

Rugby World Cup Pool A
Match #22 – FULL TIME
IRELAND 🇮🇪 3️⃣5️⃣ vs 0️⃣0️⃣ 🇷🇺 RUSSIA
🇮🇪 IRELAND – 3️⃣5️⃣
Tries: Rob Kearney (1′), Peter O’Mahony (12′), Rhys Ruddock (34′),Andrew Conway (61′), Garry Ringrose (75′)
Conversions: Jonathan Sexton (2′,14′,37′),Jack Carty (62′,76′)
Penalties : —
Drop Goals :–

🇷🇺 RUSSIA – 0️⃣0️⃣
Penalties :–
Drop Goals :–
Penalties :–
Drop Goals :–
📒 YELLOW CARD : Bogdan Fedotko (33′)
📒 YELLOW CARD : Andrei Ostrikov (51′)
Follow us at

RR WORLD RANKINGS – During World Cup the RR Ranking Points are DOUBLED

IRE (on 85.93 points) -vs- RUS (on 63.09 points) in a RWC match

Possible Outcome Rating Point
Will RUS
overtake IRE?
IRE win by 1-15 points 0.000 85.93 63.09 No
IRE win by more than 15 0.000 85.93 63.09 No
result is a draw 2.000 83.93 65.09 No
RUS win by 1-15 points 4.000 81.93 67.09 No
RUS win by more than 15 6.000 79.93 69.09 No

1. Dave Kilcoyne 2. Niall Scannell 3. John Ryan 4. Tadhg Beirne 5. Jean Kleyn 6. Rhys Ruddock 7. Peter O’Mahony 8. Jordi Murphy 9. Luke McGrath 10. Johnny Sexton (capt.) 11. Keith Earls 12. Bundee Aki 13. Garry Ringrose 14. Andrew Conway 15. Rob Kearney
Replacements:16. Sean Cronin 17. Andrew Porter 18. Tadhg Furlong 19. Iain Henderson 20. CJ Stander 21. Joey Carbery 22. Jack Carty 23. Jordan Larmour

1 Andrei Polivalov 2 Evgeny Matveev 3 Kirill Gotovtsev 4 Andrey Garbuzov 5 Bogdan Fedotko 6 Anton Sychev 7 Tagir Gadzhiev 8 Victor Gresev 9 Dmitry Perov 10 Ramil Gaisin 11 Denis Simplikevich 12 Kirill Golosnitskiy 13 Igor Galinovskiy 14 German Davydov 15 Vasily Artemyev
Replacements: 16 Stanislav Selskii 17 Valery Morozov 18 Vladimir Podrezov 19 Andrey Ostrikov 20 Evgeny Elgin 21 Sergey Ianiushkin 22 Roman Khodin 23 Vladimir Ostroushko

Date: Thursday, October 3
Venue: Kobe Misaki Stadium, Kobe City
Referee: Jerome Garces (France)
Assistant Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France), Brendon Pickerill
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: