You are here
Home > Latest News > 2021 Women’s Six Nations Championship Launched

2021 Women’s Six Nations Championship Launched

2021 Women’s Six Nations Championship Launched

    • Women’s Six Nations Championship to take place in standalone tournament window for the first time
    • All fixtures to be broadcast on a mix of terrestrial and digital services
    • New tournament format sees action take place over four consecutive weekends culminating in the first ever Women’s Super Saturday

The launch of the Women’s Six Nations Championship took place today ahead of this weekend’s big kick-off as holders England put their title on the line in what is sure to be an action-packed and exciting Championship.

This year’s Women’s Six Nations is unique in many ways and includes several major ‘firsts’ for the Championship.

For the first time in history the Championship will take place in its own standalone window and will also feature a new tournament format delivering four consecutive weekends of top-class action culminating in the championship’s first ever Super Saturday

In another Women’s Six Nations first, fans can now watch all nine games in the one place in the UK, Ireland and Italy, with the BBC, RTÉ and Eurosport showing all matches on a mix of terrestrial and digital services. In the UK, BBC will show England’s final game live on the main BBC network for the first time ever. In addition to this all games will be available on the BBC iPlayer. In Ireland, all games will be shown on RTÉ, while in Italy all matches can be watched live via the Eurosport Player. France TV continue its fantastic support of the women’s game by showing all French games on live television.

Six Nations is also excited to be launching ‘Fantasy Rugby’ for the Women’s Championship – an important engagement tool to showcase players and bring fans closer to the Women’s game. For more see

Ben Morel, CEO of Six Nations Rugby commented: “We are thrilled to launch the Women’s Six Nations Championship today and want to thank everyone for their efforts in getting us to this point. It is a privilege for us to be in a position to stage these matches despite the ongoing challenges presented by COVID-19.

“There is so much to look forward to with this year’s tournament. Top class action, a new format, all matches being broadcast, a first ever Super Saturday all of which is taking place in a standalone window for the first time ever. We cannot wait for it all to start.

“Developing the Women’s Game is a top priority for the Six Nations, and we see huge opportunities for growth. This has been a key focus for us in recent years and will continue to be central to our strategy in the coming years.”

The 2021 Women’s Six Nations is sure to be an enthralling competition full of exciting games, showcasing the best of what women’s rugby can offer.  Once again it is proudly supported by our long-standing partner Guinness.  As partner of the Women’s Six Nations, Guinness will continue its support of the Player of the Championship in 2021, alongside an initiative to increase visibility for the women’s game and enhance fan engagement. Further details will be announced in the coming weeks.

About Six Nations Rugby

Six Nations Rugby is the official organizing body of the annual Six Nations Championships and Autumn International Series.

Working in partnership with its member unions and federations in England (RFU), France (FFR), Ireland (IRFU), Italy (FIR), Scotland (SRU) and Wales (WRU), Six Nations Rugby has responsibility for the promotion and operation of the renowned Six Nations Championships and Autumn International Series, as well as the negotiation and management of their centralised commercial rights.

The Six Nations Championship is the oldest international rugby tournament in the world, dating back to its original incarnation in 1883 and expanding to its current format of six teams in 2000. It consists of three highly competitive annual tournaments across men’s, women’s and U20s rugby.

In its day-to-day operations, Six Nations Rugby is guided by the core values of courage, solidarity, inclusion, integrity, and creativity. Together with its unions and federations, Six Nations Rugby is committed to the development of rugby at all levels, as well as working with other governing and representative bodies around the world to ensure the best possible future for the game, its players and its fans.

For further information about Six Nations Rugby please visit:

Similar Articles