You are here
Home > Latest News > Super Rugby 2020: Preview – Waratahs v Lions {28/2/20}

Super Rugby 2020: Preview – Waratahs v Lions {28/2/20}

The Waratahs have played the Lions 20 times in Super rugby since 1998 and the Waratahs have won 14 matches, lost 6 times and drawn none.

The Waratahs 14 wins out of 20 matches gives them a record of winning 70% of their matches against the Lions regardless of venue.

This weekend the match will be played in Sydney which is home for the Waratahs and the city where the teams have met 10 times.

In those 10 matches played in Sydney, the Waratahs have won 9 matches and lost 1. This gives the Waratahs a record of winning 90% of their matches against the Lions at home.

The average score when the Waratahs play the Lions in Sydney is: Waratahs 38 Lions 13.

The Lions won the last match against the Waratahs in Sydney and the Waratahs have not won at home in these matches since 2014.

Across all venues, the Lions have won the last five matches between these sides.

Fit-again wing Jamba Ulengo will make his first Vodacom Super Rugby appearance for the Lions against the Waratahs in Sydney on Friday.

Ulengo, who joined the Lions after a short stint with the Cheetahs, replaces Courtnall Skosan on the left wing in a purely rotational swap.

There are a further three changes to the starting lineup as Andre Warner starts in place of Morne van Berg, who is on the bench.

Meanwhile, Carlu Sadie replaces Jannie du Plessis, who is left out of the match day squad entirely, and Jan-Henning Campher comes in at hooker for Pieter Jansen.

Average score: Waratahs 35 Lions 21

Last five results
Sat, 11 May 2019 Waratahs 28-29 Lions @Johannesburg
Sat, 28 Jul 2018 Waratahs 26-44 Lions @Johannesburg {Semi Final}
Fri, 20 Apr 2018 Waratahs 00-29 Lions @Sydney
Sat, 04 Mar 2017 Waratahs 36-55 Lions @Johannesburg
Sat, 30 May 2015 Waratahs 22-27 Lions @Johannesburg

Waratahs overall record against the Lions
Played 20, Wins 14, Losses 6, Draws 0

1. Angus Bell 2. Robbie Abel 3. Harry Johnson-Holmes 4. Tom Staniforth 5. Rob Simmons 6. Lachie Swinton 7. Michael Hooper 8. Jack Dempsey 9. Jake Gordon 10. Will Harrison 11. Jack Maddocks 12. Karmichael Hunt 13. Alex Newsome 14. Mark Nawaqanitawase 15. Kurtley Beale
Replacements: 16. Damien Fitzpatrick 17. Tom Robertson 18. Tetera Daulkner 19. Jed Holloway 20. Ryan McCauley 21. Mitch Short 22. Lalakai Foketi 23. James Ramm

15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Tyrone Green, 13 Manuel Rass, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Elton Jantjies (captain), 9 Andre Warner, 8 Len Massyn, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Jan-Hemming Campher, 1 Dylan Smith
Replacements: 16 Pieter Jansen, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Frans van Wyk, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 21 Hacjivah Dayimani, 22 Morne van den Berg, 23 Wandisile Simelane

Match Officials and details
Date: Friday 28 February
Venue: Bankwest Stadium, Sydney
Kick-Off local: 19:15
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Jordan Way  Assistant Ref 2:James Quinn
TMO : Ian Smith

Similar Articles