You are here
Home > Latest News > SR18 Preview: Jaguares vs Stormers {30-06-18}

SR18 Preview: Jaguares vs Stormers {30-06-18}

Skipper Pablo Matera will make his first appearance for the Jaguares since April having been named in the starting line-up against the Stormers.

The flanker returned to action during Argentina’s disappointing June series, but he hasn’t played for the franchise since their encounter with the Brumbies.

He is joined in the back-row by Tomas Lezana, who replaces Marcos Kremer, and Javier Ortega Desio.

Other than that, Mario Ledesma has kept faith with the side that defeated the Sharks. There are alterations among the replacements, however, with Diego Fortuny, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Joaquin Diaz Bonila and Matias Moroni coming into the 23.

Hooker Bongi Mbonambi will make his first start of the Super Rugby season for the Stormers against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Mbonambi made his return for the Stormers off the replacements bench against the Lions before the international break, having been sidelined through injury for the first 13 matches of the season, but takes his place in the starting line-up for the clash at Estadio Jose Amalfitani.

He is joined in the front-row by props Steven Kitshoff and Wilco Louw, with Ramone Samuels, JC Janse van Rensburg and Frans Malherbe on the replacements bench.

In the second-row Cobus Wiese forms a lock partnership with Jan de Klerk, with 20-year-old Salmaan Moerat set to provide an impact in the second half.

The loose trio features captain Siya Kolisi, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Sikhumbuzo Notshe, while Nizaam Carr and Kobus van Dyk are among the replacements.

In the backline experienced scrum-half Dewaldt Duvenage is paired with playmaker Jean-Luc du Plessis, with Damian de Allende and JJ Engelbrecht outside him in midfield.

Dillyn Leyds is at full-back, with Craig Barry and Raymond Rhule on the wings, while Justin Phillips and EW Viljoen provide backline cover.

Jaguares: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera (c), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta
Replacements: 16 Diego Fortuny, 17 Javier Diaz, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonila, 23 Matias Moroni

Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Craig Barry, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Jan de Klerk, 4 Cobus Wiese, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 JC Janse van Rensberg, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Kobus van Dyk, 22 Justin Phillips, 23 EW Viljoen

Date: Saturday, June 30
Venue: Estadio Jose Amalfitani, Buenos Aires
Kick-off: 16:40 local (20:40 BST, 19:40 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Pablo Deluca (Argentina), Jose Covassi (Argentina)
TMO: Santiago Borsani (Argentina)



Similar Articles