You are here
Home > Latest News > PRO14 – Kings get Maiden Win

PRO14 – Kings get Maiden Win

Kings thrash Dragons to secure first PRO14 victory

Southern Kings produced an impressive display to finally seal their first PRO14 success at the 17th time of asking following a dominant 45-13 triumph over the Dragons.

The South African outfit have been absolutely woeful in their first season in the northern hemisphere competition but, against a side who have not been much better in 2017/18, they finally managed to register a victory.

Although the first half-hour was typical of a team low on confidence, as the Dragons moved into a 10-0 advantage via Dorian Jones’ try and penalty, the next 50 minutes was excellent.

Luzuko Vulindlu set them on their way by taking a neat line off the shoulder of scrum-half Rowan Gouws. Jones did kick a penalty to regain control of proceedings for the visitors, but tries either side of half-time took the hosts away from the Welsh region.

Firstly, Masixole Banda’s superb individual score gave them a 14-13 lead at the interval before a scything Kurt Coleman break sent Vulindlu across the whitewash.

Ruaan Lerm’s effort effectively sealed the win and Coleman’s penalty – to go with six conversions – added to the Newport outfit’s pain.

Bernard Jackman’s men had no answer to the Kings’ pace out wide and Anthonie Volmink made it 38-13 with 14 minutes remaining.

By this point, the Dragons’ spirit had gone and Bobby de Wee completed a fine victory for the South Africans.

The scorers:

For Southern Kings:
Tries: Vulindlu 2, Banda, Lerm, Volmink, De Wee
Cons: Coleman 6
Pen: Coleman

For Dragons:
Try: Jones
Con: Jones
Pens: Jones 2

Kings: 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Michael Makase, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Anthonie Volmink, 10 Martin du Toit, 9 Rowan Gouws, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Martinus Burger, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Bobby de Wee, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Michael Willemse (c), 1 Schalk Ferreira
Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Johan Smith, 18 Luvuyo Pupuma, 19 Lindokuhle Welemu, 20 Andries van Schalkwyk, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Jacques Nel

Dragons: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Jarryd Sage, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Jared Rosser, 10 Dorian Jones, 9 Dan Babos, 8 Lewis Evans (c), 7 James Benjamin, 6 Harri Keddie, 5 Rynard Landman, 4 Joe Davies, 3 Leon Brown, 2 Liam Belcher, 1 Sam Hobbs
Replacements: 16 Ellis Shipp, 17 Gerard Ellis, 18 Lloyd Fairbrother, 19 Max Williams, 20 Aaron Wainwright, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Connor Edwards, 23 Rio Dyer

Referee: Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Rodney Boneparte (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)



Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: