You are here
Home > Rugby Championship > New bonus point system for Rugby Championship

New bonus point system for Rugby Championship


SANZAAR confirmed that the modified bonus point system that was introduced into Super Rugby this season, will be adopted for The Rugby Championship.

The match schedule for the tournament was also announced that will include, for the first time, a match played at Twickenham Stadium on October 8 between Argentina and the defending champions, Australia.

This is a nominated home match for Argentina while Los Pumas’ other home matches will be played in Salta and Buenos Aires.

The Rugby Championship tournament in 2016 will therefore see the four-try bonus point replaced by a bonus point awarded to a team finishing three or more tries ahead of its opponent. The bonus point for losing by seven or fewer points remains unchanged.

The Twickenham match will be the final game of the Championship and could have a huge bearing on the outcome of the tournament.

Argentina will be keen to reverse its loss to the Wallabies at the same venue in last year’s Rugby World Cup semi-final.

The Rugby Championship will be played across six rounds and will also, for the first time, include a match at Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit, South Africa.

SANZAAR CEO, Andy Marinos stated, “SANZAAR EXCO reviewed the bonus point system implemented into Super Rugby this year and believed it had a significant impact in rewarding the more dominant teams, created a competition for the full 80 minutes and is providing a reward system that recognises both attack and defence.

“Having witnessed some of the most exciting and complete 80-minute games in the history of the competition this season, spurred on by the introduction of the new bonus point system, we believe that across the SANZAAR tournaments, for the sake of the players, broadcasters and the fans, we should have consistency in terms of the tournament points system.

“We look forward to the continuation of similar, exciting and impactful rugby in the Test Matches of the 2016 Rugby Championship.

“SANZAAR is also delighted to be playing in two new cities this year with Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit and Twickenham in London hosting Championship matches.”

The Rugby Championship 2016:

August 20:
Australia v New Zealand @ ANZ Stadium, Sydney
South Africa v Argentina @ Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit

August 27:
New Zealand v Australia @ Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Argentina v South Africa @ Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena, Salta

September 10:
New Zealand v Argentina @ FMG Stadium, Hamilton
Australia v South Africa @ Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

September 17:
New Zealand v South Africa @ AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Australia v Argentina @ nib Stadium, Perth

October 1:
South Africa v Australia @ Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Argentina v New Zealand @ Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires

October 8:
South Africa v New Zealand @ Growthpoint Stadium, Durban
Argentina v Australia @ Twickenham, London



Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: