You are here
Home > Uncategorized > Qantas Australia Men’s Sevens named for Wellington

Qantas Australia Men’s Sevens named for Wellington

aus7sQantas Australia Men’s Sevens coach, Michael O’Connor, has named his squad for the Wellington Sevens, welcoming a number of players back from injury for Round 4 of the HSBC Sevens World Series.

O’Connor has made six changes to his side which claimed the Bowl final in South Africa in December last year, injecting a significant amount of experience back into the lineup for the first IRB tournament in 2013.

“We’re welcoming a lot of players back from injury, which is a big boost,” O’Connor said.

“Experience is very important at this level. You can lose one or two players, but we basically lost our starting side to injury last year.”

The squad is still without regular captain Ed Jenkins, who injured his shoulder during the Gold Coast Sevens, with O’Connor yet to decide on a replacement captain for Wellington.

Forward Jesse Parahi is back in the side for the first time after suffering an injury at the Coral Coast Sevens in November last year, while Allan Fa’alava’au, Lewis Holland and Shannon Walker all return to Australia’s backline.

Ben Adams has also worked his way back into the fold after a lengthy layoff due to injury.

Adams made his debut for Australia at the Oceania Sevens Championships in 2011 and impressed earlier this month as part of the Aussie Thunderbolts development squad in the Uprising Fiji International Sevens.

While injury woes have plagued the Qantas Men’s Sevens in recent times, O’Connor said the positive was the scenario had improved Australia’s playing stocks.

“The flip side is we’ve been able to bring a lot of guys in for experience,” O’Connor said.

“We’ve been able to introduce a lot more players to international competition over the last few tournaments.

“Tom Cusack and Ben Adams will be making their World Series debuts in Wellington, which I’m excited about.

“Our guys are building confidence by having more game time with each other, but we still need to build cohesion and you can only do that by playing games.”

The Qantas Men’s Sevens were named in Pool D for the Wellington Sevens, alongside Portugal, Fiji and Scotland. The Wellington Sevens, held at Westpac Stadium, runs 1-2 February.

Day 2 of the tournament will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 3HD from 11am to 8:30pm on Sunday 2 February.

Qantas Australia Men’s Sevens Wellington squad

1 Cameron Clarkwgtn7s
2 Ben Adams
3 Con Foley
4 Sean McMahon
5 Pama Fou
6 Jordan Tuapou
7 Allan Fa’alava’au
8 Tom Cusack
9 Will Miller
10 Shannon Walker
11 Jesse Parahi
12 Lewis Holland

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.