You are here
Home > Uncategorized > Beale in, no Cooper for Wallabies

Beale in, no Cooper for Wallabies


James Horwill Wallabies training 2013Back as captain: James Horwill

Reds captain James Horwill has also been confirmed as the Wallabies skipper for the Three-Test series against the British and Irish Lions.

Horwill led the Wallabies to Tri-Nations success in 2011 and returns to the leadership role after missing the entire 2012 Test season due to a hamstring injury.

The final places in the squad were confirmed on Monday, with troubled utility back Kurtley Beale being joined by Hugh McMeniman, Digby Ioane, Pat McCabe, Peter Kimlin and Scott Sio.

Beale has received counselling this season for alcohol-related problems which had caused him to be suspended from his Super Rugby side, the Melbourne Rebels.

Melbourne scrum-half Luke Burgess and Reds hooker James Hanson will also remain with the squad this week as injury cover at the team’s training base on the Sunshine Coast north of Brisbane.

Beale will continue with his counselling and Wallabies coach Robbie Deans is confident it will not prove a distraction for the player or the team.

“We know what Kurtley is capable of in this arena,” he said.

“He showed that as recently as last year’s Spring Tour when he performed outstandingly and led the team from fly-half in adverse circumstances against many of the opposition players we now face again.

“His work last week during the first camp supported our contention that it was not too soon for him to get started again, from either a physical or a mental stand point. His physical state is a testament, both to how hard he has worked, but also his desire to get started again.”

21-year-old Brumbies prop Sio, is a surprise inclusion and one of four uncapped players in the squad.

“Scott has had a remarkable year,” Deans added.

“While he is still developing his game, his work rate around the field, impact in contact and in defence, and the raw power he brings to his set piece indicated to us that he was ready to get under way.”

Wallabies squad:

Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Adam Ashley-Cooper (Waratahs), Berrick Barnes (Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels)

Nick Cummins (Western Force), Dave Dennis (Waratahs), Kane Douglas (Waratahs), Saia Fainga’a (Reds), Israel Folau (Waratahs)

Will Genia (Reds), Liam Gill (Reds), Michael Hooper (Waratahs), Rob Horne (Waratahs), James Horwill (Reds), Digby Ioane (Reds)

Sekope Kepu (Waratahs), Peter Kimlin (Brumbies), Christian Leali’ifano (Brumbies), Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Ben McCalman (Western Force)

Hugh McMeniman (Western Force), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Ben Mowen (Brumbies), James O’Connor (Melbourne Rebels), Wycliff Palu (Waratahs)

Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), Benn Robinson (Waratahs), Rob Simmons (Reds), Scott Sio (Brumbies), James Slipper (Reds), Joe Tomane (Brumbies).

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: