You are here
Home > International Rugby > New Zealand retain Men’s RWC Sevens title

New Zealand retain Men’s RWC Sevens title

New Zealand have claimed back-to-back Rugby World Cup Sevens titles after they beat England 33-12 at AT&T Park in San Francisco on Sunday.

Scores from Sione Molia (2), Joe Ravouvou, Akuila Rokolisoa and Trael Joass saw the All Blacks Sevens follow their Women’s team to glory.

The English crossed the try-line through Mike Ellery and Ruaridh McConnochie in defeat.

England were hugely impressive in beating South Africa 29-7 before New Zealand saw off Fiji 22-17 in their respective semi-final fixtures.

South Africa would go on to pip Fiji 24-19 to take the Bronze while fifth place was claimed by Argentina, who beat USA 33-7 to that spot.

Scotland overcame France 29-24 in extra-time to seal seventh place while Ireland impressed in beating Australia to the Challenge Trophy.

Men’s Day Three Results

Bowl 21/24 Place
Tonga 31-5 Zimbabwe
Papua New Guinea 52-7 Jamaica

Bowl Semi-Finals
Chile 20-17 Uganda
Uruguay 5-31 Hong Kong

Challenge 13/16 Place
Kenya 17-19 Samoa
Japan 20-26 Russia

Challenge Semi-Finals
Canada 7-19 Australia
Ireland 27-12 Wales

Championship 5/8 Place
Scotland 0-28 USA
Argentina 26-15 France

Championship Semi-Finals
South Africa 7-29 England
Fiji 17-22 New Zealand

Bowl 23/24 Place
Zimbabwe 33-21 Jamaica

Bowl 21/22 Place
Tonga 14-31 Papua New Guinea

Bowl 19/20 Place
Uganda 38-28 Uruguay

Bowl Final
Chile 20-7 Hong Kong

Challenge 15/16 Place
Kenya 14-26 Japan

Challenge 13/14 Place
Samoa 22-17 Russia

Challenge 11/12 Place
Canada 12-35 Wales

Challenge Trophy Final
Australia 14-24 Ireland

Championship 7/8 Place
Scotland 29-24 France (AET)

Championship 5/6 Place
USA 7-33 Argentina

Bronze Final
South Africa 24-19 Fiji

Championship Final
England 12-33 New Zealand

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: