You are here
Home > International Rugby > New Zealand win Women’s RWC Sevens title

New Zealand win Women’s RWC Sevens title

New Zealand became the first team in history to win back-to-back Rugby World Cup Sevens titles after beating France 29-0 in Saturday’s final.

A hat-trick from 22-year-old reigning World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year Michaela Blyde sealed the victory.

Australia claimed the bronze medal with a hard fought 24-14 victory over hosts USA on a day when a a noisy and enthusiastic crowd of over 33,000 packed in to the spectacular AT&T Park in San Francisco.

France had earlier dug deep to overcome 2018 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series champions Australia 19-12 in a thrilling semi-final while the indomitable Black Ferns Sevens came from behind to defeat a spirited USA side 26-21.

The semi-finals were rugby sevens at its very best – exceptional quality, intensity and competitiveness – showcasing to a huge and highly-engaged crowd just why women’s sevens was such a hit at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Women’s Day Two Results

Challenge 13/16 Place
Mexico 0-34 South Africa
Papua New Guinea 12-15 Brazil

Challenge Semi Finals
England 38-0 China
Fiji 14-15 Japan

Championship 5/8 Place
Ireland 20-15 Russia
Spain 26-14 Canada

Championship Semi Finals
Australia 12-19 France
New Zealand 26-21 USA

Challenge 15/16 Place
Mexico 0-32 Papua New Guinea

Challenge 13/14 Place
South Africa 0-22 Brazil

Challenge 11/12 Place
China 0-38 Fiji

Challenge Final
England 31-5 Japan

Championship 7/8 Place
Russia 10-22 Canada

Championship 5/6 Place
Ireland 7-12 Spain

Bronze Final
USA 14-24 Australia

Championship Final
New Zealand 29-0 France

Photo credit: Mike Lee – KLC fotos for World Rugby

Similar Articles