You are here
Home > Hurricanes > Super Rugby Preview: Sunwolves v Hurricanes (19/04/19)

Super Rugby Preview: Sunwolves v Hurricanes (19/04/19)

    • This will be the third Super Rugby meeting between the Sunwolves and the Hurricanes, the side from Wellington winning the previous two by an aggregate score of 126-32.
    • The Hurricanes have lost just one of their last six games in Super Rugby (W4, D1), however on the road they’ve won just twice in their last nine (D1, L6).
    • The Sunwolves are still chasing their first victory at home in Super Rugby 2019 (L4), they’ve only lost five games in a row on their own turf once before (February-April 2018).
    • The Sunwolves have had single figure penalty counts in their last two Super Rugby games, they haven’t managed this in three consecutive games since July 2017.
    • Vince Aso (Hurricanes) has bagged four tries, 267 metres, 11 clean breaks, seven offloads and beaten eight defenders in two previous appearances against the Sunwolves.

The Sunwolves have played the Hurricanes twice in Super rugby since 2017 and the Sunwolves have lost both matches.

This weekend the match will be played in Tokyo which is home for the Sunwolves and the venue where the teams have met just once before.

In that single match played in Tokyo the Sunwolves were beaten 17-83.

Average score: Sunwolves 16 Hurricanes 63

Last two results 
Fri, 27 Apr 2018 Sunwolves 15-43 Hurricanes @Wellington
Sat, 25 Feb 2017 Sunwolves 17-83 Hurricanes @Tokyo

Sunwolves overall record against the Hurricanes
Played 2, Wins 0, Losses 2 , Draws 0

15 Ryohei Yamanaka, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Josh Timu, 12 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, 11 Semisi Masirewa, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Jamie Booth, 8 Hendrik Tui, 7 Dan Pryor (captain), 6 Ben Gunter, 5 Luke Thompson, 4 Mark Abbott, 3 Hiroshi Yamashita, 2 Nathan Vella, 1 Pauliasi Manu
Replacements:16 Atsushi Sakata, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Takuma Asahara, 19 Tom Rowe, 20 Shuhei Matsuhashi, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Jason Emery, 23 Jamie Henry

15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Reed Prinsep, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Liam Mitchell, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Ben May, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Fraser Armstrong
Replacements:16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Xavier Numia, 18 Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Sam Henwood, 21 Richard Judd, 22 James Marshall, 23 Billy Proctor

Match Officials and details
Date :
 Friday 19 April

Venue : Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo
Kick Off local: 19:00
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 2:Shuhei Kubo
TMO :Minoru Fuji


Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: