You are here
Home > Hurricanes > Super Rugby 2020: Preview – Jaguares v Hurricanes {9/2/20}

Super Rugby 2020: Preview – Jaguares v Hurricanes {9/2/20}

The Hurricanes have named Jackson Garden-Bachop to start at 10 against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires on Sunday (NZT).

Fletcher Smith has paid the price for his struggles during last week’s 27-0 beating at the hands of the Stormers in Cape Town, and coach Jason Holland has wasted no time revolving the door, as the search to solidify the departed Beauden Barrett’s replacement continues.

The second of two changes to the starting side sees Asafo Aumua move off the bench to start at hooker over Ricky Riccitelli.

The Jaguares are riding high, after their 38-8 hammering of South Africa’s Lions last weekend, and Holland realises his team will need to lift considerably.

“We have to nail the small details on an individual level and collectively,” said Holland.

“Too many turnovers and giving away possession killed us last week, and so we need to be patient and to build some pressure.”

Jaguares: 15 Santiago Carreras, 14 Sebastián Cancelliere, 13 Matiás Moroni, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente (c), 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Rodrigo Bruni, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Francisco Gorrissen, 5 Lucas Paulos, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Julián Montoya, 1 Mayco Vivas
Replacements: 16 Agustín Creevy, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Joel Sclavi, 19 Javier Ortega Desio, 20 Tomás Lezana, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Tomás Albornoz, 23 Santiago Chocobares

Hurricanes: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Billy Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 TJ Perenara (c), 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Asafo Aumua, 1 Fraser Armstrong
Replacements: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Tevita Mafileo, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Vaea Fifita, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Fletcher Smith, 23 Vince Aso

Jaguares v Hurricanes
@ Estadio José Amalfitani
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Pablo Deluca (Argentina), Martin Cordoba (Argentina)
TMO: Santiago Borsani (Argentina)

Similar Articles