You are here
Home > Jaguares > Super Rugby Preview: Jaguares v Sunwolves (14/06/19)

Super Rugby Preview: Jaguares v Sunwolves (14/06/19)

    • This will be just the third meeting between the Jaguares and Sunwolves in Super Rugby, with each of the previous two games between them won by the home side on the day (one win apiece).
    • The Jaguares have won eight of their last nine Super Rugby games, including their last four on the bounce; only once in their history in the competition have they won more in succession (7 wins from April to June in 2018).
    • The Sunwolves have won only two of their previous 30 games away from home in Super Rugby (L28); however, both of those wins have come in the 2019 campaign.
    • Only the Crusaders (8.6) have conceded fewer clean breaks per game than the Jaguares (8.7) thus far in Super Rugby 2019.
    • Semisi Masirewa (Sunwolves) has made an average gain of 8.7m per carry this Super Rugby campaign, the most of any player to have made at least 100 carries.

The Jaguares have played the Sunwolves twice in Super rugby since 2016 and the Jaguares have won one match and lost one.

That gives the Jaguares a record of winning 50% of their matches against the Sunwolves regardless of venue.

This weekend the match will be played in Buenos Aires which is home for the Jaguares and the venue where the Jaguares beat the Sunwolves.

The last time these teams met was in 2017 and the Jaguares won.

Average score: Jaguares 37 Sunwolves 38

Last two results 
Sat, 06 May 2017 Jaguares 46 v 39 Sunwolves @Buenos Aires
Sat, 23 Apr 2016 Jaguares 28 v 36 Sunwolves @Tokyo

Jaguares overall record against the Sunwolves
Played 2 , Wins 1, Losses 1, Draws 0



15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Sebastian Cancelliere, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias (c), 11 Santiago Carreras, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Felipe Ezcurra, 8 Rodrigro Bruni, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 6 Tomas Lezana, 5 Lucas Paulos, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Enrique Pieretto, 2 Julián Montoya, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

Replacements: 16 Santiago Socino, 17 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Francisco Gorrisen, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Juan Cruz Mallia, 23 Matias Moroni


15 Semisi Masirewa, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Josh Timu, 12 Timothy Lafaele, 11 Hosea Saumaki, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Jamie Booth, 8 Ben Gunter, 7 Shuhei Matsuhashi, 6 Tyota Hasegawa, 5 Tom Rowe, 4 Mark Abbott, 3 Conan O’Donnell, 2 Nathan Vella, 1 Masakata Mikami

Replacements: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Shogo Miuru, 18 Tamuka Asahara, 19 Yuya Odo, 20 Masakatsu Nishikawa, 21 Keisuke Uchida, 22 Takuya Yamasawa, 23 Jason Emery

Match Officials and details
Date :
 Friday 14 June

Venue : Estadio José Amalfitani, Buenos Aires
Kick Off local: 19:10
Referee: Federico Anselmi
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Juan Pablo Federico
TMO :Marius Jonker

Similar Articles

%d bloggers like this: