You are here
Home > Bulls > Super Rugby Result: Jaguares 27 v 12 Bulls (23/02/19)

Super Rugby Result: Jaguares 27 v 12 Bulls (23/02/19)

Los Jaguares claimed the maximum competition points in defeating the Bulls this evening in Buenos Aires. The 27-12 victory was by three tries to zero but it was the Jaguares defensive effort rather than try scoring which brought home the victory.

With three quarters of the match played the Bulls were ahead 12-10. This was via four penalties from Handré Pollard. The final quarter saw the match turned around by Los Jaguares who ran in two tries to be outright winners.

The opening score in the game was a try. Crossing was Matías Orlando who latched onto a loose pass to canter down field and score. Joaquín Díaz Bonilla landed the conversion to make it 7-0 after 17 minutes.

Pollard would strike back for the Bulls. With penalties either side of half time the match was a one-point game. Díaz Bonilla would make it 10-9 in the 48th minute with a regulation penalty following a high tackle on Pablo Matera.

The Bulls would control the following passages of play and with it take the lead. With a 12-10 advantage after 60 minutes the game was very much up for grabs for both sides. The difference factor would come in the form of replacements.

Los Jaguares’ second try came in the 64th minute. Julián Montoya threw in from a 5 meter lineout from which Rodrigo Bruni drove over from the resulting maul. Having detached Bruni was able to cross with the Bulls being caught out.

The result was sealed nine minutes later. Crossing under the posts was Bautista Delguy, doing so after having finished off a counter-attack which had been begun by fellow winger Ramiro Moyano. The converted try put Los Jaguares 15 points clear with less than 6 minutes left to play.

Los Jaguares will remain in Buenos Aires for next weekend. The Argentine Super Rugby franchise will play at home against the Blues from Auckland, New Zealand in their third round fixture.


Tries – Orlando, Bruni, Delguey
Pen – Diaz Bonilla (2)
Con – Diaz Bonilla (3)

Pen – Pollard (4)

15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente (c), 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Javier Ortego Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Mayco Vivas
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Rodrigo Bruni, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Juan Cruz Mallia, 23 Matias Moroni

15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jessie Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Hanro Liebenberg, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Lood de Jager (captain), 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Lizo Gqoboka
Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Eli Snyman, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Dylan

Match Officials
Referee: Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Ref 1: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 2: Mike Fraser
TMO: Santiago Borsani

Similar Articles