You are here
Home > Brumbies > Super Rugby Preview: Sunwolves v Brumbies (1/06/19)

Super Rugby Preview: Sunwolves v Brumbies (1/06/19)

    • The Brumbies have won all four of their previous Super Rugby matches against the Sunwolves, scoring an average of 43 points per game in that span.
    • The Sunwolves have been kept scoreless in the first halves of three of their last four Super Rugby games, only once going on to score more than seven points by full-time in that span.
    • The Brumbies have won their last three Super Rugby games on the bounce; the last time they won more in succession was a four-game streak from May to July in 2016 – which included a 66-5 defeat of the Sunwolves.
    • The Brumbies have conceded just 13 turnovers per game in Super Rugby 2019, the fewest of any team in the competition and four per game fewer than the Sunwolves.
    • Gerhard van den Heever (Sunwolves) has gained 7.2m per carry this Super Rugby season, the most of any player to have made at least 100 carries.

The Sunwolves have played the Brumbies 4 times in Super rugby since 2016 and the Sunwolves have won all four matches.

The Sunwolves 4 wins out of 4 gives them a record of winning 100% of their matches against the Brumbies regardless of venue.

This weekend the match will be played in Tokyo which is home for the Sunwolves and the venue where the teams have met just once before.

In that one previous match in Tokyo the Brumbies won 25-35 and is the closest that the Sunwolves have finished against the Brumbies.

Average score: Sunwolves 15 Brumbies 43

Last four results 
Sun, 12 May 2019 Sunwolves 00 v 33 Brumbies @Canberra
Sun, 03 Jun 2018 Sunwolves 31 v 41 Brumbies @Canberra
Sat, 24 Feb 2018 Sunwolves 25 v 32 Brumbies @Tokyo
Sat, 28 May 2016 Sunwolves 05 v 66 Brumbies @Canberra

Sunwolves overall record against the Brumbies
Played 4 , Wins 0 , Losses 4, Draws 0

15 Semisi Masirewa, 14 Gerhard Van Den Heever, 13 Jason Emery, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Hosea Saumaki, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Jamie Booth, 8 Ben Gunter, 7 Dan Pryor, 6 Yoshitaka Tokunaga, 5 Tom Rowe, 4 Mark Abbott, 3 Takuma Asahara, 2 Nathan Vella, 1 Alex Woonton
Replacements 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Conan O’Donnell, 19 Yuya Odo, 20 Kara Pryor, 21 Keisuke Uchida, 22 Takuya Yamasawa, 23 Timothy Lafaele.

15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Toni Pulu, 10 Christian Lealiifano (captain), 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Jahrome Brown, 6 Tom Cusack, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper.
Replacements 16 Connal Mcinerney, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Lachlan McCaffrey, 21 Rob Valentini, 22 Matt Lucas, 23 Tom Wright.

Match Officials and details 
Date : Saturday 1 June
Venue : Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo
Kick Off local: 14:15
Referee: Federico Anselmi
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Shuhei Kubo
TMO :Minoru Fuji

Similar Articles