You are here
Home > Jaguares > Super Rugby Preview: Waratahs v Jaguares (25/05/19)

Super Rugby Preview: Waratahs v Jaguares (25/05/19)

    • This will be just the third Super Rugby fixture between these sides, the Jaguares have won the first two matches including the inaugural clash in Sydney (40-27).
    • Each of the NSW Waratahs’ last nine Super Rugby games has been decided by a single-digit margin on the day; however, the Waratahs have managed just three wins in that time (L6).
    • The Jaguares have won five of their last six Super Rugby matches (L1); though, just one of those six games was decided by a margin of greater than eight points.
    • The Jaguares boast a points differential of +59 in the final quarter of games this Super Rugby season, the second highest of any team in the competition.
    • Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs) has slotted 41 kicks at goal this Super Rugby campaign – the second most of any player in the competition – at an accuracy of 77%.

The Waratahs have played the Jaguares 30 times in Super rugby since 2017 and the Waratahs have yet to beat the Jaguares.

In the two matches between these sides one match was played in Sydney and the other was played in Buenos Aires.

This weekend the match will be played in Sydney and when the teams met there last time the Jaguares won 27-40.

Average score: Waratahs 28 Jaguares 39

Last two results 
Sat, 10 Mar 2018 Waratahs v Jaguares 28-38 Buenos Aires
Sat, 08 Jul 2017 Waratahs v Jaguares 27-40 Sydney

Waratahs overall record against the Jaguares
Played 2 , Wins 0 , Losses 2 , Draws 0



15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Cam Clark, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson

Replacements: 16 Andrew Tuala, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Will Miller, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Curtis Rona


15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Santiago Carreras, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente (c), 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Tomás Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Marcos Kremer, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Mayco Vivas.

Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Lucio Sordoni, 19 Tomás Lavanini, 20 Juan Manual Leguizamon, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 23 Matias Moroni.

Match Officials and details
Date :
 Saturday 25 May

Venue : Western Sydney Stadium
Kick Off local: 19:45
Referee: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 1:Egon Seconds
Assistant Ref 2:Jaco Peyper
TMO :Ian Smith

Similar Articles